wind turbine-overall dynamics (coupling of structure, wind and waves)

INSTITUTEs

Stuttgart Wind Energy (SWE) at the Institute of Aircraft Design

 

www.uni-stuttgart.de/windenergie

 

www.mpa.uni-stuttgart.de

 

Contact Person:

Dr.-Ing. Anne Jüngert

anne.juengert@mpa.uni-stuttgart.de

 

Load Simulation

 

There are numerous possibilities at the Stuttgart Chair of Wind Energy (SWE) of the University of Stuttgart to simulate loads on onshore and offshore wind turbines. Depending on the purpose, models at different complexities can be coupled and support investigations. The spectrum goes from reduced models for longer simulated times to detailed models of drive trains, of support structures or rotor blades with CFD for the aerodynamics.

 

Overview Simulation software:

 

  • Flex5
  • Bladed
  • FAST
  • FE Software: ANSYS, ABAQUS, Poseidon
  • MKS Software: SIMPACK
  • CFD Code: FLOWer

 

 

Modal Approach: Flex5+FE, Bladed, FAST

 

Simulations using model reduction techniques and partially coupled finite element models produce accurate models for preliminary design with a very short processing time. The models are able to accurately represent the critical components from the foundation to the rotor blades. The models can have turbulent wind inputs along with wave loading for offshore models.

 

 

Multibody Systems (MBS): SIMPACK, Bladed (MBS)

 

Multibody simulation software (MBS) allows for high level simulations of wind turbine models. MBS model building is particularly flexible. It is possible to represent flexible components by integrating modal-reduced FE-bodies (Flexible Multibody Systems FMBS).  Geartooth contacts, bearing stiffness (in the drive train or pitch system), mooring system (floating turbines) and any flexible bodies can be modeled. The Endowed Chair of Wind Energy (SWE) uses both Bladed from GL/Garrad Hassan and SIMPACK. The SWE has cooperated for many years with the two software companies and takes part in the development of the SIMPACK module serving the design of Wind Turbines.

 

 

Fluid structure coupling with CFD: FLOWer -SIMPACK

 

Along with the basic aerodynamic theories, such as the Blade Element Momentum (BEM)  theory or  the Free Vortex theory, the Flow solver FLOWer is coupled with the MBS program SIMPACK for very detailed simulations of aeroelastic issues. The involved institutes possess a powerful software package for “Aeroelastic Multibody Simulation” with which the structural dynamics can be modeled with a very high level of detail thanks to the MBS. The aerodynamics can be solved without the BEM theory but by using the URANS method (implemented in the FLOWer code). The MBS models coupled with this tool permit an analysis of  both the structural loads and the aerodynamics (the pressure distribution on the blade surface and overall flow field).

 

For more information please visit:

 

http://www.ifb.uni-stuttgart.de/windenergie/Konzeptentwurf_Systemsimulation.en.html

 

 

System Identification, Condition Analysis, Model Updating:

 

  • System Identification:
    • Identification of the state of mechanical structures in plant and mechanical engineer-ing using classical modal analysis and operational modal analysis (OMA)
    • Measurement of the system response with seismic sensors (cyclic speed readers) and piezoelectric acceleration sensors
    • Determination of deformation using strain gauge and optical measuring techniques
    • Stress analysis with LMS Test. Lab Structures
  • State Analysis: Calculation of the eigenfrequencies and eigenforms of mechanical structures in plant and mechanical engineering using the finite element program Abaqus FEA
  • Model Updating: adaption of unknown model system parameters – for example, boundary and transition conditions and restraint intensity – to the results of experimental model analy-sis using the finite element program FEMtools from Dynamic Design Solutions (DDS). With this, stiffness values from i.e. non-reachable locations such as offshore plants can be determined.

 

 

Dampening of Vibrations

 

Qualification of tuned massed dampers in cooperation with the manufacturer is important in order to decrease the amount of undesired highly structure-dynamical stresses on mechani-cal systems such as tower vibrations.

 

 

 

Mode 1 and Mode 2 of a wind energy plant Illustration: MPA Stuttgart

IMPRINT

WEA-Gesamtdynamik (Struktur-, Wind- und Wellenkopplung)

INSTITUTE

Stuttgarter Lehrstuhl für Windenergie (SWE)

 

http://www.ifb.uni-stuttgart.de/windenergie/

www.mpa.uni-stuttgart.de

 

Ansprechpartnerin:

Dr.-Ing. Anne Jüngert

anne.juengert@mpa.uni-stuttgart.de

 

Lastsimulation

 

Am Stuttgarter Lehrstuhl für Windenergie der Universität Stuttgart sind zahlreiche Möglichkeiten zur dynamischen Lastsimulation von Onshore und Offshore Windenergieanlagen gegeben. Je nach Zielsetzung können Modelle unterschiedlicher Komplexität verknüpft und untersucht werden. Das Spektrum reicht von schnellen reduzierten Gesamtmodellen für aufwendige Langzeitsimulationen bis zu detaillierten Modellen des Triebstrangs, des Regelungssystems, des Verankerungssystems oder der Rotorblätter samt CFD Aerodynamik.

 

Überblick Simulationssoftware

 

Flex5

Bladed

FAST

FE Software: ANSYS, ABAQUS, Poseidon

MKS Software: SIMPACK

CFD Code: FLOWer

u.v.m.

 

 

Modale Ansätze: Flex5+FE, Bladed, FAST

 

Simulationen mit modalen Ansätzen und zum Teil gekoppelten finiten Elemente Modellen stellen eine sehr schnelle Plattform des Vorentwurfsprozesses dar, um das Gesamtsystem Windenergieanlage zu berechnen. Die Modelle bilden ausreichend genau alle relevanten Komponenten der Anlage von Fundament bis Rotorblatt ab und können zahlreiche Umweltphänomene aus Wind und Wellenlasten berücksichtigen. Besonders geeignet sind solche Anwendungen für den Zertifizierungsprozess von Windenergieanlagen, da hier sehr viele 10min-Zeitreihen gerechnet werden müssen.

 

 

Mehrkörpersysteme (MKS): SIMPACK, BladedMKS

 

Hoher Detaillierungsgrad lässt sich mit Mehrkörpersimulationsprogrammen realisieren. MKS Systeme zeichnen sich auch durch hohe Flexibilität bei der Modellbildung aus und es lassen sich auch flexible Körper aus modal-reduzierten FE-Bauteilen (sog. Flexible Mehrköpersystem, FMKS) einbinden. So lassen sich Zahnkontakte, Lagersteifigkeiten (zum Beispiel  im Triebstrang oder im Pitchsystem), oder Vertäuungssysteme bei schwimmenden Windenergieanlagen abbilden. Der Stiftungslehrstuhl für Windenergie benutzt sowohl Bladed MKS von GL/Garrad Hassan als auch SIMPACK ; mit beiden Softwareentwicklern sind in den letzten Jahren enge Beziehungen entstanden und der SWE beteiligt sich auch an der kommerziellen Weiterentwicklung des SIMPACK-Moduls für die Modellierung von Windenergieanlagen.

 

 

Fluid-Struktur-Kopplungen mit CFD: FLOWer -SIMPACK

 

Neben einfacheren aerodynamischen Verfahren, die auf der Blattelementimpulstheorie (BEM), sowie Wirbelleiterverfahren basieren, wird für sehr detaillierte Simulationen von aeroelastischen Fragestellungen auch der Strömungslöser FLOWer mit dem Mehrkörpersimulationsprogramm SIMPACK gekoppelt. Dadurch haben die beteiligten Institute ein sehr leistungsfähiges Softwarepaket zur „aeroelastischen Mehrkörpersimulation“ zur Verfügung, wobei das strukturdynamische Verhalten mittels Mehrkörpersimulation mit einem hohem Detailierungsgrad modelliert werden kann und die Aerodynamik mit dem CFD URANS Verfahren, das dem FLOWer Code zugrunde liegt, ohne die bei den einfacheren BEM Verfahren üblichen Vereinfachungen gelöst wird. Die mit den gekoppelten Tools erzeugten Ergebnisse werden sowohl strukturdynamisch anhand der lokalen Lasten am MKS Modell ausgewertet, als auch aerodynamisch anhand des gesamten Strömungsfelds und der Druckverteilung auf der Blattoberfläche.

 

 

Weiterführender Link:

 

http://www.ifb.uni-stuttgart.de/windenergie/Konzeptentwurf_Systemsimulation.html

 

 

Systemidentifikation, Zustandsanalyse, Model Updating:

 

  • Systemidentifikation:
    • Identifikation des Zustands mechanischer Strukturen im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau mithilfe klassischer Modalanalyseverfahren und der Betriebsschwingungsanaly-se OMA („Operational Modal Analysis“)
    • Messung der Systemantwort mit seismischen Sensoren (Schwinggeschwindig-keitsaufnehmern) und piezoelektrischen Beschleunigungsaufnehmern
    • Ermittlung von Verformungen mittels DMS-Messtechnik und optischer Messverfah-ren, etc.
    • Analyse der Beanspruchungen mit LMS Test. Lab Structures
  • Zustandsanalyse: Berechnung der Eigenfrequenzen und  formen mechanischer Strukturen im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau mithilfe des Finite Elemente Programms Abaqus FEA
  • Model Updating: Anpassung unbekannter Modell Systemparameter – z. B. Rand- und Übergangsbedingungen sowie Einspanngrade – an die Ergebnisse der experimentellen Mo-dalanalyse mithilfe des Finite Elemente Programms FEMtools von Dynamic Design Soluti-ons (DDS).

 

 

Schwingungsminderung

 

Qualifizierung von Schwingungstilgern in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Hersteller, um unerwünschte hohe strukturdynamische Beanspruchungen von mechanischen Systemen zu mindern, z.B. Turmschwingungen.

 

 

Mode 1 und Mode 2 einer Windenergieanlage Abbildung: MPA Stuttgart

IMPRESSUM