Rotor Aeroacoustics

INSTITUTEs

 

Tool development

 

Development of noise prediction models (USTUTT-IAG)

 

At the Institute of Aerodynamics and Gas Dynamics (IAG), University of Stuttgart, different models for the efficient determination of trailing edge noise have been developed (Xnoise, XEnoise and Rnoise). Numerical prediction results are extensively validated with measurement data obtained in institute's Laminar Wind Tunnel (LWT), and excellent agreement has been observed. This qualifies the developed methods for the analysis and design of quiet airfoils. The enhanced prediction schemes are coupled in a Graphical User Interface (GUI) based tool IAGNoise.

 

IAGNoise has been extended for 3D applications as well. The model consists of dividing the blades of the wind turbine into two-dimensional airfoil sections and predicting the total noise emission as the sum of the contribution from each blade element for a given observer position under consideration of Doppler effects.

 

 

Noise reduction

 

     - Acoustic design and wind tunnel measurement of airfoils (USTUTT-IAG)

 

Noise emission is one of the major obstacles for a further spread of on-shore wind turbines and significantly limits public acceptance. Tightened noise regulations force the wind turbine manufacturers to make serious efforts in noise reduction. The flow-induced noise emitted from the blades is complex to comprehend and to reduce and, therefore, represents the current focus for further noise reduction. Investigations including field tests suggest that the trailing edge noise is the most dominant noise source of modern wind turbines. This particular noise basically stems from an interaction of the turbulent eddies within the boundary layer and the associated pressure fluctuations with the trailing-edge of the rotor blades. Because the state of the turbulence in the vicinity of the trailing edge is determined by the development of the boundary layer and thus by the shape of the pressure distribution along the blade section, it is obvious that the noise emission can be influenced and finally reduced by an adequate design of the airfoil. The objective is to reduce the noise emission and increase aerodynamic performance at the same time.

 

     - Acoustic assessment of airfoils and rotors (USTUTT-IAG)

 

Trailing edge noise remains the most dominant noise source of modern wind turbines. This particular noise basically stems from an interaction of the turbulent eddies within the boundary layer and the associated pressure fluctuations with the trailing-edge of the rotor blades.

Because the state of the turbulence in the vicinity of the trailing edge is determined by the development of the boundary layer and thus by the shape of the pressure distribution along the blade section, it is obvious that the noise emission is influenced by the design of the rotor airfoil. Based on substantial experience in aerodynamics and aeroacoustics the IAG analyses airfoils using in-house noise prediction codes with regard to the identification of potential noise sources and their reduction.

 

 

     - Numerical simulation and wind tunnel testing of passive and active means for noise reduction          (USTUTT-IAG)

 

The Institute of Aerodynamics and Gas Dynamics of the University of Stuttgart investigates the effects of passive and active devices for the reduction of flow induced noise of wind turbine rotor blades. The achieved noise reduction can increase the acceptance of On-Shore wind turbines or it can be used to improve the performance of the wind turbine by increasing the rotation speed of the rotor. The institute’s investigations focus on a reduction of the trailing edge noise by passive (airfoils design, trailing edge modifications) and active (suction, blowing) means. Among other things it was shown that a distributed suction of the boundary layer leads to a significant noise reduction. At the IAG both numerical and experimental investigations about noise reduction are performed.• ActiQuiet (active noise reduction of wind turbines)

 

 

Current projects

 

  • ActiQuiet (Active noise reduction of wind turbines)

 

  • INFLOW-Noise (Numerical and experimental studies on inflow and trailing-edge noise of wind turbines)

 

  • IEA Annex MexNext III (Validation of aerodynamic and aeroacoustic codes for wind turbines)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMPRINT

Rotorakustik

INSTITUTE

Verfahrensentwicklung

 

Entwicklung von Lärmvorhersagemodellen (USTUTT-IAG)

 

Am Institut für Aerodynamik und Gasdynamik der Universität Stuttgart wurden verschiedene Modelle zur effizienten Berechnung des Hinterkantenlärms entwickelt (Xnoise, XEnoise und Rnoise). Die Berechnungsergebnisse dieser Modelle wurden mit Messungen aus dem Laminarwindkanal des Instituts verglichen und es zeigte sich eine sehr gute Übereinstimmung, was die Methoden zur aeroakustischen Analyse und zum Entwurf lärmarmer Profile qualifiziert. Die oben genannten Modelle sind im Programm IAGNoise, das über eine grafische Oberfläche verfügt, eingebaut. IAGNoise wurde zudem für die Anwendung auf 3D Geometrien erweitert. Dazu wird das Rotorblatt in mehrere 2D Profilschnitte unterteilt. Der Gesamtlärm der Anlage wird dann durch Aufsummierung der Anteile der einzelnen 2D Schnitte unter Berücksichtigung des Dopplereffekts für vorgegebene Beobachterpositionen  bestimmt.

 

Lärmreduktionsmaßnahmen

 

- Akustischer Entwurf und Windkanal-Vermessung von Profilen (USTUTT-IAG)

 

Die Lärmentwicklung ist ein wichtiger Aspekt bei der Entwicklung von On-Shore Windenergieanlagen. Der entstehende Lärm beeinträchtigt die Akzeptanz von Windenergieanlagen in der Bevölkerung. Die strengen Lärmschutzregularien fordern ernsthafte Bemühungen der Betreiber zur Lärmreduktion. Der strömungsinduzierte Lärm ist dabei rechnerisch schwierig zu erfassen und zu reduzieren. Messungen weisen darauf hin, dass der Hinterkantenlärm die dominierende Lärmquelle ist.  Dieser entsteht durch Interaktion der Druckfluktuationen in der Grenzschicht mit der Hinterkante der Rotorblätter. Die Druckfluktuationen wiederum entstehen durch turbulente Strukturen in der Grenzschicht. Da der Zustand der Turbulenz in der Nähe der Hinterkante durch die Entwicklung der Grenzschicht und somit durch die Form der Druckverteilung im Profilschnitt bestimmt wird, ist es nahe liegend, dass der Hinterkantenlärm durch einen adäquaten Profilentwurf reduziert werden kann. Ziel dabei ist es, den Lärm zu verringern, möglichst bei gleichzeitiger Erhöhung der aerodynamischen Leistung.

 

- Akustische Bewertung von Profilen und Rotoren (USTUTT-IAG)

 

Hinterkantenlärm wird als die dominierende Lärmquelle moderner Windenergieanlagen angesehen. Er entsteht durch Interaktion der turbulenten Strukturen und der damit verbundenen Druckfluktuationen innerhalb der Grenzschicht mit der Hinterkante des Rotorblattes.

Da die Turbulenz in der Grenzschicht in der Nähe der Hinterkante durch die  Entwicklung der Grenzschicht und damit durch die Druckverteilung auf  dem Profil bestimmt wird, ist es verständlich, dass das Lärmspektrum von der Form der Rotorprofile beeinflusst wird. Basierend auf umfangreichen Erfahrungen in der Aerodynamik und Aeroakustik von Profilen analysiert das IAG unter Verwendung eigener Akustikmodelle Profile in Hinblick auf die Identifikation potentieller Lärmquellen bei gleichzeitiger Erarbeitung von Maßnahmen zu deren Reduktion.

 

- Numerische Simulation und Windkanalmessung von passiven und aktivem Maßnahmen zur Lärmreduktion (USTUTT-IAG)

 

Das Institut für Aerodynamik und Gasdynamik der Universität Stuttgart untersucht das Potential aktiver und passiver Maßnahmen zur Reduktion des strömungsinduzierten Lärms der Rotoren von Windenergieanlagen. Die erzielte Lärmreduktion kann zur Erhöhung der Akzeptanz von On-Shore Anlagen beitragen sowie über eine Erhöhung der möglichen Rotordrehzahl zu einer Leistungssteigerung künftiger Windturbinen genutzt werden. Die Arbeiten in diesem Bereich konzentrieren sich auf die Reduktion des grenzschichtinduzierten Hinterkantenlärms, der die dominante Lärmquelle darstellt. Dabei kommen passive (Profilentwurf, Hinterkantenmodifikation) und aktive Maßnahmen (Absaugen, Ausblasen) zum Einsatz. Es zeigte sich unter anderem, dass durch konstante, flächige Absaugung eine erhebliche Lärmreduktion erzielt werden kann. Am IAG werden sowohl numerische als auch experimentelle Studien in diesem Bereich durchgeführt.

 

 

Laufende Projekte

 

• ActiQuiet (aktive Maßnahmen zur Lärmreduktion von Windturbinen)

 

• INFLOW-Noise (Numerische und experimentelle Untersuchungen zu inflow noise und Hinterkantenlärm von Windturbinen)

 

• IEA Annex MexNext III (Validierung aerodynamischer und akustischer Berechnungsmodelle für Windturbinen)

 

 

 

IMPRESSUM