Measurement of Wind Turbulence and Temperature Profiles

INSTITUTEs

The  Stuttgart Wind Energy chair - SWE at the University of Stuttgart has at its disposal a number of instruments for the measurement of different wind parameters and the temperature of the near-ground atmosphere. The SWE's metrological equipment includes the following appliances and instruments:

 

Wind met mast:

 

The SWE's three-sided wind met mast with a maximum height of 120 meters has multiple beams at various, freely selectable heights. Meteorological sensors (atmospheric pressure, temperature, humidity, rain) and wind sensors (cup anemometers, wind vanes, ultrasonic anemometers) can be mounted on these beams. In combination with the SWE data acquisition system the met mast's equipment allows the measurement of load and power performance curves of wind energy turbines according to IEC standards 61400-12 and 61400-13.

 

 

LiDAR - short range up to 250m

 

The SWE's short range LiDAR enables a simultaneous recording of horizontal wind speeds and wind directions at up to ten different heights between 40 and 250 meters above the ground. In flat terrain this type of wind measurement offers a good alternative to conventional wind met masts. Further research is required for the application of the LiDAR technique in forested areas  and complex or mountainous terrains.

 

In combination with a SWE developed  scanner , the LiDAR device can be employed on the nacelle of a wind turbine. By a certain systematic control of the laser beam the air flow can be observed and analyzed either in front of or behind the turbine covering the entire swept rotor area at various distances from the nacelle. The information about the approaching wind field for example is used for the development of predictive control strategies or future performance and load measurements. By observing a wind turbine's wake an estimation of the loads on neighboring wind turbines within a wind farm can be done.

 

 

LiDAR - long range up to 3000m

 

The SWE's long range LiDAR enables a simultaneous analysis of air currents at different distances of up to 3000 meters from its location. By variable scanning mechanics measurements can be done within a hemispherical area around the device. As with the short range LiDAR-scanner, the laser beam can be steered in various, predefined directions.

 

 

Fernerkundung: SODAR / Windlidar / RASS

 

Surface-based remote sensing methods allow for a measurement of wind turbulence and temperature profiles in the atmospheric boundary layer with high vertical resolution (10 to 20 m). There are acoustic (SODAR), optical (windlidar) and electro-magnetic (RASS) techniques available.  A SODAR gives vertical profiles of the wind and the vertical component of turbulence intensity and qualitative hints on the vertical structure of the boundary layer. A wind lidar gives essentially the same data but has a higher range than a SODAR and offers a much enhanced data availability. A RASS gives the same data as a SODAR but additionally gives the vertical temperature profile. All these instruments are available at IMK-IFU. An overview over meteorological measurement methods may be found in Emeis (2010), a more detailed description of remote sensing methods for the boundary layer may be found in Emeis (2011).

 

 

KITcube - An overall Monitoring System to probe the Atmosphere

 

With KITcube the Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology comes with an excellent equipment of modern measurement instruments for experimental study of the atmosphere. The instruments for ground-based remote sensing of the atmosphere (radar and lidar) and the instruments for in-situ measurements (turbulence, radiation, measurement towers) are used worldwide in large international field programs.

 

The KITcube is an overall monitoring system that consists of different instruments to probe the atmosphere. It can survey an atmospheric volume of about 10 km side length with different methods and thus allows the temporally and spatially complete capturing of all relevant processes. The KITcube is characterized by high operational flexibility. It can be operated as a mobile device at arbitrary measuring locations as well as in continuous operation for atmospheric monitoring.

 

The primary purpose of the KITcube is to deal with essential questions related to turbulence and convection in the boundary layer and to the triggering of deep convection and subsequent precipitation caused by moisture variability, moisture convergence, convergence zones and aerosol distribution. In addition, the meteorological measurement platform can make a contribution for example to determine the radiation balance or in combination with air chemistry observations to characterize atmospheric aerosols.

 

 

 

 

Stuttgart Wind Energy @ Institute of Aircraft Design

 

www.uni-stuttgart.de/windenergie

 

IMPRINT

Wind-, Turbulenz- und Temperaturprofilmessung

INSTITUTE

Der Stiftungslehrstuhl Windenergie (SWE) der Universität Stuttgart verfügt über eine Vielzahl messtechnischer Instrumente zur Messung unterschiedlicher Windparameter sowie der Temperatur der bodennahen Atmosphäre. Zur messtechnischen Ausstattung des SWE zählen folgende Einrichtungen und Gerätschaften:

 

 

Windmessmast:

 

Der dreiseitige Windmessmast des SWE mit einer maximalen Höhe von 120 Metern  verfügt über mehrere Ausleger auf verschiedenen, variabel wählbaren Höhen. Auf diesen Auslegern können meteorologische Sensoren (Luftdruck, Temperatur, Luftfeuchtigkeit, Regen) bzw. Windsensoren (Schalenkreuzanemometer, Windfahnen, Ultraschallanemometer) installiert werden. Die Ausstattung des Windmessmasten ermöglicht in Kombination mit dem SWE-Datenerfassungssystem eine Last- und Leistungskurvenmessung an Windenergieanlagen nach IEC 61400-12 bzw. 61400-13.

 

 

LiDAR - short range bis 250m

 

Das short range LiDAR des SWE erlaubt die simultane Erfassung horizontaler Windgeschwindigkeiten und -richtungen in bis zu zehn verschiedenen Höhen zwischen 40m und 250m über Grund. Diese Art der Windmessung stellt im flachen Gelände eine sehr gute Alternative zu klassischen Windmessmasten dar. Für Messungen in bewaldeten wie auch in bergig komplexen Gebieten ist jedoch noch Forschungsbedarf nötig.

 

Mit Hilfe eines am SWE entwickelten Scanners kann dieses LiDAR-Gerät auch auf der Gondel einer Windkraftanlage eingesetzt werden. Durch gezielte Lenkung des Laserstrahles lässt sich die Luftströmung wahlweise vor oder hinter einer Windenergieanlage über die gesamte, vom Rotor überstrichene Fläche in verschiedenen Entfernungen von der Gondel aus betrachten und untersuchen. Die Erkenntnis des herannahenden Windfelds wird beispielsweise für die Entwicklung prädiktiver Regelungsstrategien oder für zukünftige Leistungs- und Lastmessungen herangezogen. Die Kenntnis des Nachlaufes von Windenergieanlagen lassen innerhalb eines Windparks die Lasten von benachbarten Anlagen abschätzen.

 

 

LiDAR - long range bis 3000m

 

Das long range LiDAR des SWE ermöglicht die simultane Untersuchung von Luftströmungen in verschiedenen Entfernungen vom Standort bis zu Entfernungen von 3000m. Durch die variable Scanmechanik können Messungen innerhalb eines halbkugelförmigen Bereichs um das Gerät im Zentrum stattfinden. Auch hier kann, wie beim Scanner des short range LiDAR, der Laserstrahl in beliebige, vordefinierte Richtungen gelenkt werden.

 

 

Fernerkundung: SODAR / Windlidar / RASS

 

Bodengestützte Fernmessverfahren erlauben eine Messung der Wind- Turbulenz- und Temperaturprofile in der atmosphärischen Grenzschicht mit hoher vertikaler Auflösung (10 bis 20 m). Es gibt akustische (SODAR), optische (Windlidar) und elektromagnetische (RASS) Verfahren. Ein SODAR liefert Vertikalprofile des Winds und der vertikalen Komponente der Turbulenzintensität sowie qualitative Hinweise auf die Vertikalstruktur der Grenzschicht. Ein Windlidar liefert dieselben Daten wie ein SODAR, hat aber eine deutliche höhere Reichweite und eine wesentlich besserer Datenverfügbarkeit. Ein RASS liefert zusätzlich zu den Informationen, die ein SODAR oder ein Windlidar bieten, das vertikale Temperaturprofil. Alle Instrumente sind am IMK-IFU vorhanden. Für eine Übersicht über meteorologische Messverfahren sei auf Emeis (2010) verwiesen, für die Fernerkundung der Grenzschicht auch auf Emeis (2011).

 

 

KITcube - Ein Gesamtbeobachtungssystem zur Sondierung der Atmosphäre

 

Das Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung des Karlsruher Institut für Technologie verfügt mit dem KITcube über eine hervorragende Ausstattung an modernen Messgeräten zur experimentellen Erforschung der Atmosphäre. Die Instrumente zur bodengebundenen Fernerkundung der Atmosphäre (Radar und Lidar) und die Geräte für in-situ-Messungen (Turbulenz, Strahlung, Messtürme) werden weltweit in großen internationalen Messprogrammen eingesetzt.

 

 

Unter dem KITcube verstehen wir das Gesamtbeobachtungssystem unterschiedlichster Instrumente zur Sondierung der Atmosphäre, das ein  Atmosphärenvolumen von ca. 10 km Seitenlänge mit verschiedensten Methoden vermessen kann und somit die zeitlich und räumlich vollständige Erfassung aller relevanten Prozesse ermöglicht. Der KITcube zeichnet sich durch hohe Einsatzflexibilität aus. Er kann sowohl als mobile Einrichtung an beliebigen Messorten betrieben werden, als auch im Dauerbetrieb für atmosphärisches Monitoring.

 

 

Das vorrangige Ziel des KITcube ist es, wesentliche Fragestellungen im Zusammenhang mit Turbulenz und Konvektion in der Grenzschicht  und mit der Auflösung von hoch reichender Konvektion und nachfolgendem Niederschlag durch Feuchtevariabilität, Feuchtekonvergenz, Konvergenzzonen und Aerosolverteilung zu bearbeiten. Darüber hinaus bietet die meteorologische Messplattform die Möglichkeit, z. B. zur Bestimmung der Strahlungsbilanz oder durch Kombination mit luftchemischen Beobachtungen zur Charakterisierung atmosphärischer Aerosole beizutragen.

 

 

 

Stuttgarter Lehrstuhl für Windenergie (SWE)

 

http://www.ifb.uni-stuttgart.de/windenergie/

IMPRESSUM